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APPLICATION FOR MOVIE & TELEVISION PRODUCTIONS $129.00
For Office Use Only

Type of Filming: Departments Contacted:

Date .

Received Transportation:

Insurance Sheriff's

Received Department:

Film Dates Fire District:

Other:

FILM PRODUCTIONS IN SACRAMENTO COUNTY

In addition to this license, motion picture or other filming productions in the unincorporated area of
Sacramento County require the following:

The County requires an insurance policy for $1 million in the County’s name for liability coverage.
A Street Use Permit from the Transportation Department. Any production that intends to control
traffic or park their equipment on the public street will require this permit. Transportation can be
reached at (916) 875-5332.

Security/traffic control officers. The County requires the use of California Highway Patrol officers
for traffic control. The CHP requires 10 working days notice to process a work contract.
Any production involving gunfights, explosions, or elaborate special effects should involve the
Sheriff and Fire districts. The County Business License unit will help put you in touch with the
appropriate agency.

Company Name

Address

City State Zip Code

700 H Street, Room 1710 « Sacramento, California 95814 + phone (916) 874-6644 -
www.finance.saccounty.net




Representative Name
Title Phone Number
Cell Fax Number

Name of Production
Type

Number of Cast Number of Crew

Location(s) Please use a separate sheet if more than two:

Date(s): Time(s):

Are animals to be used? If yes, please indicate type of animal(s)

List street(s) requested for street closure (street closure requires resident or business manager’s
agreement):

Summarize the scene(s) to be filmed (include extraordinary scenes such as fights, robbery speeding
car(s); use of fire, water, explosives, etc.)

Indicate number and type of vehicles to be parked within County right-of-way
Trucks Vans Buses Generators
Dressing Rooms

Production Cars Picture Cars Other (specify)

List streets requested for parking:

List street(s) requested for street closure (street closure requires resident or business manager’s
agreement):




A $129.00 non-refundable fee must be paid with the filing of the application, and the amount required
for departmental charges, if any, must be deposited before the license will be issued.

Signature Date




Notice to Applicants for Business Licenses and Commercial Building Permits
California Disability Access - Legal Requirements and Resources

Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant
responsibility that applies to all California owners and tenants of commercial property used for public
accommodation or business purposes. Non-compliance with the federal Americans with Disabilities
Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. Sec. 12101 et seq.), the CA Building Code, the CA Unruh Civil Rights Act
(Section 51 of the Civil Code), the CA Disabled Persons Act (Section 54 of the Civil Code) can result
in significant expense from defending lawsuits. June 18,
2019 FINAL DRAFT

HOW TO REDUCE YOUR RISK OF BEING SUED

Compliance with state and federal construction related accessibility standards ensure that public
places are accessible and available to persons with disabilities. A Certified Access Specialist (CASp)
is a professional certified by the State of California to have specialized knowledge on how to apply
these standards. A CASp report prepared according to Construction-Related Accessibility Standards
Compliance Act (CRASCA, Civil Code Division 1, Part 2.52, Sections 55.51-55.545) entitles business
and facility owners to specific legal protections, in the event that a construction-related accessibility
claim is filed against them.

Building Permit Applicants: Obtain a consultation with a CASp BEFORE, and an inspection
AFTER performing any alterations or construction. A CASp can provide a review of your
improvement plans and an access compliance evaluation of the public accommodation areas that
are not part of the alterations.

Business License Applicants: Obtain a consultation with a CASp BEFORE leasing or purchasing a
facility, and an inspection AFTER engaging in business on the premises. A CASp evaluation before
facility lease/purchase will assist with estimating the cost of needed access improvements. This can
be an important consideration in the lease/purchase negotiations. An inspection after your move-in
can identify access barriers such as placement of furniture in areas that should be free of
obstructions.

Follow the CASp Report’s Recommendations: The report will identify any “readily achievable”
barrier removal steps - actions that can be taken right away without significant difficulty or expense.
A timeline will be provided for more substantial alterations. Make improvements over time, as you
can afford it, according to the CASp report’s timeline. Use tax credits, deductions and financing to
help reduce costs.

How to Find a CASp: Visit
www.apps2.dgs.ca.qgov/IDSA/casp/casp certified list.aspx/

PAYING FOR ACCESS IMPROVEMENTS

Government tax credits, deductions and financing programs are available to assist businesses with
access compliance expenditures.

Federal Tax Credit - Disabled Access Credit for Eligible Small Businesses: Internal Revenue Code
Section 44 provides a federal tax credit for small business that incur expenses for providing access
to persons with disabilities. For more information, refer to IRS Form 8826: Disabled Access Credit at

www.irs.gov/


http://www.apps2.dgs.ca.gov/DSA/casp/casp_certified_list.aspx/
http://www.irs.gov/

State Tax Credit — Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 17053.42 and 23642 provide a tax credit
similar to the Federal Disabled Access Credit, with exceptions. For more information, refer to FTB
Form 3548 Disabled Access Credit for Eligible Small Businesses at www.ftb.ca.gov/

Federal Tax Deduction — Internal Revenue Code Section 190 allows businesses of all sizes to claim
an annual deduction for qualified expenses incurred to remove physical structural and transportation
barriers for persons with disabilities. For more information, refer to IRS Publication 535: Business

Expenses at www.irs.gov/
State Finance Option — The California Capital Access Program (CalCAP) ADA financing program

(CalCAP/ADA) assists small businesses with financing to costs to alter or retrofit existing facilities to
comply with ADA requirements. Learn more at www.treasurer.ca.gov/ccpfa/calcap/

CA Disability Access Legal Requirements/Resources

LAWS THAT GOVERN ACCESS REQUIREMENTS

Federal Civil Rights Law — Title Ill of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits the
exclusion of people with disabilities from everyday activities. The ADA regulations require that you
make access improvements to your business premises, ensuring that entrances, aisles,
bathrooms, service counters, and other features are accessible to and useable by people with
disabilities. More information on ADA requirements for businesses:

U. S. Department of Justice (DOJ) Toll-free ADA information line: (1-800) 514-0301
ADA Business Connection http://www.ada.gov/business.htm/

ADA Guide for Small Businesses https://www.ada.gov/smbusqgd.pdf/

California Building Code — All new construction and renovation must comply with disability
access requirements of California Building Code (CBC) Title 24, Part 2, Chapter 11B. When
renovating your premises you must make accessible the main entrance, main route to the
renovated area, toilet and bathing facilities, drinking fountains, signs and public telephones serving
the renovated area. If the construction project’s cost is under the "valuation threshold," your
obligation to do additional access work is capped at 20% of the construction costs. More on CBC
Title 24 access requirements:

CA Division of State Architect (DSA) Access Compliance/General Information (916) 445-
8100

https://www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/

CA Commission on Disability Access (CCDA) https://www.dgs.ca.gov/ccda/

Additional Resources: https://www.dgs.ca.qov/CCDA/Resources/

California Civil Rights Laws —The Unruh Civil Rights Act and the Disabled Persons Act protect
the right of individuals with disabilities to the full use and enjoyment of all business establishments.
Both laws provide that any violation of the ADA is a violation of state law. Plaintiffs often file
lawsuits in state court under these laws rather than under the ADA, because state laws allow
plaintiffs to recoup three times their actual damages; if no actual damages are sustained, plaintiffs
may recover statutory damages. More on California civil rights laws:

CA Department of Rehabilitation https://dor.ca.gov/Home/DisabilityLawsandRegulations/

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES

- Although Building Permit and Inspections (BPIl) may have already permitted and approved your
facility, it's still advisable to have a CASp inspection after move-in to ensure there are no


http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.treasurer.ca.gov/ccpfa/calcap/
http://www.ada.gov/business.htm/
https://www.ada.gov/smbusgd.pdf/
https://www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/
https://www.dgs.ca.gov/ccda
https://www.dgs.ca.gov/CCDA/Resources
https://dor.ca.gov/Home/DisabilityLawsandRegulations

unintended barriers created by placement of furniture/equipment in areas that must be
accessible.

- Older facilities built prior to the passage of the ADA are not “grandfathered” or exempt from
compliance with access regulations. They are treated differently than newer facilities, and a
CASp can assist you in understanding the specific requirements for your facility.

- Even if you are not engaged or construction or renovation, you are subject to federal and state
disability rights laws. Compliance with building code requirements does not relieve you of the
obligation to comply with civil rights laws, and vice versa.

- If you receive a verbal or written access complaint, follow up right away. Delay often leads to
litigation. Let the complainant know you are taking the issue seriously and will be consulting with
a CASp and/or legal counsel.

This document is intended as informal technical guidance. It does not replace the professional
advice of a CASp or licensed architect knowledgeable about disability access requirements. It is
NOT legal advice. If you have been sued, or face significant legal issues, you should consult an
attorney with expertise on disability access laws.

To request alternate formats of this document, please contact Business Licensing, (916) 874-6644
(TTY 711) and ask for the Lead Worker, Email BusLicense@saccounty.net



mailto:BusLicense@saccounty.net
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